Hello world!

Loray Mills EntranceIf you’ve come to this page, you’re obviously checking out to see who I am, so let me satisfy your curiosity.  To begin with, I’m on of those unusual critters referred to as a native Floridian.  I’ve lived on both the west and east coast of the Sunshine State and hadn’t considered living anywhere else until I met my significant other, Ted.  Currently, we’re living in Fort Mill, South Carolina, a nice little burg just south of the lovely city of Charlotte.

Ted and I knew each other in passing through various fandoms, starting with Elfquest, the SCA and then through anime.  We married in 1987.  We share the house with three cats, Harley, Gracie and Lucy, collectively referred to as ‘the girls’.

Professionally, I’ve been a counter attendant at a movie theater, a cashier for a grocery story, worked in data entry, generated assembly instructions for baby clothing at a textile mill, and worked as a Radiology transcriptionist for several hospitals.

My hobbies and interests tend to be varied.  I’ve been working in counted cross stitch since I was 14.  Writing is another pleasure of mine, starting with fan fiction and then moving on to my own original stories, and have been published in various zines, books and online.  During the past few years I’ve become intrigued by two things: architecture and photography, and that branched off to photographing old textile mills.  It’s because of this interest that I’ve put together this blog, to share my passion for these old buildings, hence the name Textile Corridor.  The area we live in was one of the hubs of the textile industry.

In the following posts, I’ll share the mills I’ve visited and photographed, as well as some of their history.  Have to warn you, though – I may divert to another subject that comes to mind like books, movies or cats so you have been warned…  Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

